Here Awards 2024: Final Call

Entries are nearly due for the Here Awards 2024!

Here Awards 2024: Final Call

Entries are nearly due for the Here Awards 2024!

We’ve already received some cracker entries for the 2024 Here Awards, but there’s still time to get yours in, with entries closing on Friday June 28.

The awards are a celebration of architecturally designed houses in Aotearoa. We’re looking for both luxury and humility, but more than that, we’re looking for houses that seek to change the way we live – houses that start conversations and solve difficult problems.

For 2024 – the awards’ fourth year – we’ve made a few changes. Each project should fit one of our core categories, with discretionary awards to be given by the rōpū. The rōpū won’t be looking for one house per category: rather, we’ll select the best houses and award categories to suit. If there isn’t a suitable project in a category, then we won’t award it. It’s a flexible approach that allows each rōpū to celebrate different projects and approaches in different years, rather than filling categories.

You’re welcome to enter as many projects as you like, though you can only enter each project once and in one category. All finalists are also eligible for Best House Aotearoa 2024.

This year’s awards will be judged by our Best House Aotearoa 2023 winner, OIi Booth, along with Prue Johnstone, of Johnstone Callaghan Architects in Ōtautahi Christchurch. We’ll be on the road in spring, travelling the country to visit our shortlisted houses in person.

With thanks to our returning partners Città, Resene and Blum – and a warm welcome to our event partner The Hotel Britomart.

Here Awards Categories

New House

The New House award celebrates new houses in all their glory around Aotearoa. From the small to the luxurious, this award prioritises novel design, purity of form and clear-eyed, though not subservient, responses to site and brief. We are looking for houses that make our cities and landscapes better – houses with spirit and a sense of place.

Reuse and Renovation

The twin challenges of climate change and developing cities demand that we make the best possible use of buildings and houses that already exist. The Reuse and Renovation category celebrates clever, innovative thinking and sensitive design. We’re looking for houses that turn constraints into virtues – and have a little fun at the same time.


As our cities grow, living more densely is becoming the norm. This category recognises the changing ways we live, but also that a range of responses is required. From a perfectly executed apartment block to a co-housing development, or hidden density in character suburbs, this category covers exciting projects that show new ways of living.

Small Project

Less than a house but more than a piece of furniture, this award celebrates clever, small interventions that have a big impact. It could be a shed, a pool house, a kitchen or an outdoor area, but it will have clarity and purity of design – and maybe a sense of fun.


New for 2024! The Unbuilt category celebrates the joy of a work in progress, the potential of a beautiful thing. To be eligible for entry, projects must be consented in Aotearoa – AI dreamers need not apply – but they don’t have to have begun construction. Progress shots are very welcome.

Best house Aotearoa 2024

All finalists are eligible for this award. The supreme winner will capture a moment in architecture and society. As a result, it will have a point of view. It might be challenging; not everyone will like it, but in a few years, we’ll look back and understand it implicitly.

How to Enter

Entry is online – and free! – at or email for an entry pack.

2024 Dates

June 28: Entries close

August/September: Judging

October 24: Awards announced


Print EditionBuy Now

Related Stories: