Enter the Here Awards

Entries are now open for our new awards programme. (We’re a wee bit excited.)

Enter the Here Awards

Entries are now open for our new awards programme. (We’re a wee bit excited.)

When we started Here, we wanted to create a new brand that champions local architecture, and helps progress the conversation. Our awards programme is a big part of that kaupapa.

It’s our pleasure to introduce the Here Awards, brought to you in association with our award partners Città and Fisher & Paykel.

This is a progressive and joyful programme – clear-eyed and fun. We are less interested in statement architecture, and more interested in whether a house answers questions about what it means to live here, and now and into the future. We love luxury and humility in equal measure.

We’ve created a number of categories, ranging from New House to Small Project, and all category winners will be eligible for Best House Aotearoa 2021.

The projects are visited by a roopū of professionals who care deeply about New Zealand and the challenges we face. We’ll be looking for houses with heart and guts. All projects will be judged on a combination of quality design, sustainability and the relative difficulty of a project.

We’ll celebrate our finalists and winners at an awards ceremony on October 20, and the projects will be published in the October 2021 issue of Here.

This is an ambitious exercise for an independent magazine, and we are grateful for the support of our award partners, both New Zealand brands with design at the core of their DNA. 


We're calling for entries in the following categories:

  • New House
  • Reuse and Renovation
  • Apartment or Townhouse
  • Colour, Craft & Detail
  • Interior
  • Small Project

All finalists are eligible for Best House Aotearoa 2021

How to enter

Enter online here before July 7, 2021. Supply high-res photos and plans, a brief blurb about the project and answer a question on sustainability. Entry packs are available online or by emailing hello@thisishere.nz

2021 Dates

April Call to entry

July 7 Entries close

September Judging

October 20 Awards announced

Here Awards
Entries close July 7 2021



Print EditionBuy Now

Related Stories: